Daily Archives: October 14, 2012

A Wild Update Appears

I haven’t posted in a long time and I thought I might give any readers I still have an update.

Work:

I applied at a different hospital system and was offered a position. Nothing will be final until July, but I will be traveling back and forth between both hospitals for a bit. I look at this as an exciting new adventure, one where I am still unsure what exactly will happen. As both hospitals are in California, it’s not going to be a cross-country flight. I am still looking for opportunities on the East coast, but they appear to be few and far between. 

Family:

My cousin had her baby, Adela Ksenia October 3. She’s adorable and I love her so much, even if she did poop on me. She has been crying quite a bit, but hopefully that will subside in the next few weeks. The house has definitely changed with a baby around. I was a bit sick (an understatement) over the weekend and was quarantined to my room for fear I would make Adela sick as well. As soon as I’m better, I plan on playing with her again. It makes me a little baby crazy, but since I know that isn’t going to happen, I have relegated myself to being the best cousin/aunt replacement I can be! 

Personal:

I have been a bit scattered lately. Work has stretched me thin and with the baby I have added a new set of responsibilities to my already hectic life. My personal relationships are always strained, but they have become even more so these last few months. I very much miss the handful of people I haven’t had time for and hope they know that I still care about them a great deal. My life is hard on friendships, which is why I do cherish the few close friends I have. 

A friend of mine recently asked me if I had ever considered corresponding with someone who is incarcerated. I told her that, honestly, it had never even crossed my mind. This particular friend is a counselor to inmates predominantly on the East coast, but she has also worked with people all over the country. She explained to me that these people often feel forgotten about and just need something positive in their life. After knowing me for so many years, she thought that I would be a good person to ask. So, after thinking about it for a few days, I agreed to do it. I have set up a P.O. box (which made me feel oddly adult) and have written five letters to several inmates around the US. It will be an interesting experience I’m sure and I will keep everyone posted regarding any responses I receive.