Time to Detox

The time has come for me to detox again. I feel like this has actually become something I really look forward to. The ritual of the detox is something I enjoy, plus I always feel amazing afterward. Work has been insanely stressful and I’m beginning to agree with the people who tell me I’m crazy for deciding to stick with neuroendocrinological surgery. Regardless, the detox always helps me focus a bit. I planned to start after the holidays and February gave me an entire month to prepare.

I have decided to mix the detox process up a bit and follow a different plan. The entire process will take 21 days, so I am planning on starting March 4. This gives me one more weekend to beginning cooking some of the food I will need for the next 21 days. My friends will probably start to notice how moody I’m becoming around March 10-12. A week or so into each detox, my body starts to rebel and I get cranky. Hopefully by preparing all of what I need in advance, I can stave off the crankiness for awhile.

Plan Basics:

– Lots of fluids: at least 64-oz a day
– Base diet: lentils, fruit, vegetables, nuts, seeds, oils and seasonings
– Glass of warm water with lemon each morning
– Prep each meal well before
– Stretching routine each morning
– Continue to run my 50+ miles a week
– Add in 30 min of yoga/pilates a day
– No fish or gluten-free grains until week two
– No eggs or non-GMO soy until week three
– 21 day food journal

I will be using Whole Living’s recipes for the duration of the detox process.

Week 1: Breakfast
Week 1: Lunch
Week 1: Dinner

Week 2: Breakfast
Week 2: Lunch
Week 2: Dinner

Week 3: Breakfast
Week 3: Lunch
Week 3: Dinner

Snacks

I will keep you updated on my progress as often as I can spare some time to make a post. At the moment I am currently fighting a nasty upper respiratory infection, but this too shall pass.

Let me know what you think about this detox plan! I’m curious to see if this one is better than the last one I did. It doesn’t seem to be near as strict, so I hope it still works just as well.

Leave a Reply

