The Essentials

While I was packing to head home (to Missouri) for the holidays, I had an idea for a post! I was pulling cold weather clothing to get me through the next few days and I realized that I have always adhered to the “10 core items that everyone should own” rule. Even though I have a ton of clothes, I regularly update what I consider my “core.”

What do I consider the core clothing items every woman should own?

1.  LBD, Little Black Dress. What style of LBD? That is really up to your body type, though you should pick something classic. Don’t choose a dress with too many “extras” or “add-on’s.” You want chic, simple and classic. You should look at your LBD as an investment piece, so you can justify spending a little more to get a high-quality garment. This dress will also be worn many times, so you should have it professionally dry-cleaned and store it in a garment bag to help it last longer.

2. Ballet Flats. I love heels as much as anyone, but every once in a while you need to tone down the sexy to casual romance. Ballet flats are a comfortable alternative to heels and they can sometimes make the outfit. I always try to keep a pair of city flats in my purse/car, should I need an emergency pair. There have been a few times where I have gone out with friends and wished I could trade shoes by nights end. Owning several pair of flats is preferable and though there are a few colors you should invest in a good pair of black and brown flats. Make sure the flats are comfortable, don’t rub your foot raw and have decent support.

3. Tote. I have so many totes I don’t even know where to begin. I have totes for the farmers market, totes for the grocery store, totes for the pool/gym and then totes that I use when traveling. They are incredibly handy and can definitely show off your sense of style. Pick a statement bag, nothing too trendy. You will carry this tote for many years. I prefer Hunter Boot totes for “heavy-duty” travel or Lanvin for weekends. Both make fabulous totes!

4. Black Pumps. Louboutin. That’s really all you need to know. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Hell yes. They will treat your feet so well and you will be thankful you spared no expensive on them.

5. Flattering skirt. Just like the LBD, you need a skirt that flatters your body. The skirt that you buy needs to be comfortable, classic and you have to be able to dress it up or down. I have always adored fall skirts or high-waisted pencil skirts, but you have to make sure that you feel comfortable with the fit and the length.

6. Fantastic bra. You don’t realize how much you need one until you find the right one. I highly suggest going to a place that properly fits you for a bra. I don’t mean Victoria’s Secret either. Though you can find bras there that are decently made, you should really be looking at high-end stores. What you are purchasing is the foundation of your wardrobe. If your bra is uncomfortable, you are uncomfortable. Don’t suffer through the day because you’re wearing the wrong size!

7. Jeans. A great pair of jeans can make you feel like you can take on the world. Jeans that make your butt look amazing, slim your legs and tuck in your tummy are the ideal. The only way to find the correct pair of jeans is to try on as many brands as you can. If you go into a store that sells jeans, try on your size. Once you have them on. Bend over, squat down, sit, walk around. Get a feel for how those jeans are going to look while you’re being active. Though you should definitely have several pairs of jeans, you should have that one brand that you always know will fit you perfectly. I love Citizens of Humanity because they don’t ever have the dreaded gap and they always make my butt look good!

8. Cashmere sweater. Splurge on a nice sweater. I always like white, cable knit cashmere. It is soft, warm and it envelopes you. It is one of the most comforting items of clothing in your closet. You should choose the a style of sweater that you will feel best in. Whether it is a cardigan, oversized, fitted or buttoned sweater, it should be something you still feel beautiful in.

9. Trench coat/cold weather coat. Depending on where you live, you should invest in a nice coat. If you can get away with a trench coat, then buy one that will look good over a dress or pants. Heavier coats are more difficult, as you will need to find something that isn’t too bulky, but will also be warm. I have always adored Burberry and even though they are asininely expensive, their jackets are classics. Pair your jacket with a favourite scarf and it won’t even matter what you have on underneath!

10. Tailored dress pants. I feel like women do not afford themselves the same luxury as men. Even though men have their shirts, pants, and jackets tailored, I rarely talk to a woman who says the same. After I had my first pair of dress pants tailored, I was hooked. Since then I have taken pretty much all of my core pieces to a tailor for customization!

The idea is to spend a lot initially and then accessorize, accessorize, accessorize. You can build a fantastic wardrobe out of just a few major pieces and if you feel the need to practice, hop on Polyvore and just see how many outfits you can create using a single piece from the list above.

Happy shopping!

Question(s): What are your essentials? Do you agree with the items in the list above?

5 responses to “The Essentials

  1. disneyloverslifestory

    Reblogged this on disneyloverslifestory and commented:
    love these ❤

  2. Love the list! I need to renew my wardrobe soon (once I start earning). 🙂

  3. im not buying any of these things.

Leave a Reply

