Mmm, Mmm, Good!

A few days ago, I was in the middle of a not so great week. I was moping around and in a generally bad mood. It was really a culmination of things that had gotten me to that point, but I was being a brat to everyone anyway.

Then I decided to go out and get some dinner with a friend who was in town. It was an extremely short dinner (since I had to get back to work), but I was able to do a quick catch up over sushi. Halfway through the first roll I stopped and snapped a picture


I actually made my friend stop eating so I could take a photograph of our food. It was this action that made me realize I had a slight obsession.

Slight is an understatement, however, as I went through the pictures saved on my phone and found over 50 pictures of food.


I apologized to my friend and felt a little embarrassed. She was completely cool about it and said that she use to do the same thing. She showed me an album on her phone titled “My Secret Shame” which was filled with photos of food.

After my apology I asked her if she shared the pictures with anyone and she told me that she use to post them on Facebook and then realized it probably made her seem strange to potential guys so she stopped.

Should I stop? It doesn’t really do any harm, it’s just a little strange that I can’t sit through a decent meal without thinking, “I need to get a picture of this!” Maybe it’s because the food always looks so pretty and then is devoured so quickly. I’m not sure why I do it, but I have my own “My Secret Shame” folder on my phone now.

Questions: Do you take pictures of your food? What do you do with the pictures?

6 responses to “Mmm, Mmm, Good!

  1. I take photos of my food all the time. Once in a while I’ll post them on FB or text to a friend (if I know they love xyz) but mostly I just like to take them, not necessarily do anything with them.

    I like pretty food, what can I say.

    • I think I just felt bad because I interrupted our meal to snap the photo! Normally I take it right when the food comes out, so that way we can get down to business.

  2. You shouldn’t stop! I used to take pictures of food everyyyyyywhere I went. It got to the point where I didn’t care who thought what. Then I’d post them on FB. Would you know a blogger asked me to write for their blog? Yep! I did strictly restaurant reviews at that time. This love for food increased. It helped me start my own cupcake business and now, more recently, my own blog. Do you. Be happy and take loads of pics!

    • I do really enjoy taking the pictures. I send them to random friends, “Look what I’m eating!” and they are always very excited for me. Grats on the cupcake business! I hope to own a bakery one day (after I realize that being a physician doesn’t really lend to creativity).

  3. Thank you. I hope your dream of owning your bakery comes true!

  4. I love taking pictures and that includes food as well! There’s no shame to that. 🙂 Except people around in a restaurant might find it weird.
    And surely I do take a lot of pictures of food I cook for my blog! My phone is full of that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

