Like Eating Glass

Because Halloween is my favourite holiday (and yesterday was hell), I decided to not only go all out for my costume this year, but also make fantastic baked goods. I had seen a really awesome recipe in Martha Stewart Living and wanted to bake my own.

For the cupcakes I made a red velvet base and added some dark chocolate chips to the batter as well. I used a cream cheese frosting recipe, but any white frosting would do. You want the “blood” to show up on the glass/frosting, so the lighter the better.

The glass is incredibly easy to make:

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup water

Combine in a saucepan and heat to a boil. As soon as it boils, reduce the heat to medium-high. Heat until the caramel reaches 300 F (150 C) and then pour immediately into a metal sheet pan that is sprayed with cooking spray. A metal sheet works best because it is flexible. Tilt the pan until the sugar mixture covers the bottom of the pan in a thin layer. Let it sit for 10-15 minutes and then break it with a spoon or the handle of a knife. I used a beat-up tray, so I didn’t feel bad twisting it and hitting it with utensils.

This was a lot of fun to make!

Then you take the glass, insert it (several pieces) into the top of the iced cupcake. The semi-finished product looks really fabulous:

Up close and personal with the cupcake

I ended up making 24 cupcakes, but four would not fit on the tray. I used the leftover “glass” to cover the bottom of the tray, to give them more “awesome points“:

I can't wait to see people's reactions to these!

Finally, you will need to drizzle “blood” over the glass for that super creepy effect:

Delicious blood (aka raspberry syrup)

20 cupcakes all in a row...

The syrup wasn’t as red as I was hoping for, but the overall effect is nice!

Also, this seems like an appropriate song for the post!

Happy Weekend Before Halloween!

Hallowe'en!

2 responses to “Like Eating Glass

  1. are these for the party? am i invited still?

  2. Wow!! The glass with blood looks really impressive! It’s simply perfect!

Leave a Reply

