The Pie is a Lie

The “Cake vs Piedebate has been going on for some time. I have never taken a side because I tend to fall into the “whatever is being served at
the time is my favourite dessert” category. While driving my aunt to the airport, she told me to stop by a particular bakery on the way back and get cannolis for everyone. When I arrived at the bakery, they had a yummy selection of goodies and I bought an eclectic mix of things to take to my remaining family.

Upon my arrival home I was greeted by eager young cousins who saw that I was carrying a cake. Before I could even make it into the door, my youngest cousin looked up at me with the biggest puppy dog eyes I have ever seen and said, “No pie?” I hadn’t gotten any pie because I had decided on cake/cannoli/biscotti/cookies.

My lack of pie was apparently more than my cousin could handle and he stomped off in a huff. I laid out an array of baked goods on the counter and then told my cousin we could go pick out a pie. I drove back to the bakery and he picked out a “Torta di Tagliatelle.”

It made me wonder: What dessert is better? Is there a clear winner in the “Cake vs Pie” debate?

The researcher in me wanted to know, so I sent out an “official” text to everyone on my contact list. I learned two things from this:

  1. Don’t send out a “Group MMS” on the iPhone because it confuses people and they blame me.
  2. There really isn’t a clear winner in this conflict!

The results came back:

Cake: 65
Pie: 64

Even though cake was the winner by a single vote, I can’t decide if that is a large enough margin to consider cake the winner. I have to take a lot of variables into consideration (mainly the fact that many of my friends don’t take anything seriously) and even I can’t really decide which side I’m on!

Trying to decide between the two desserts is difficult, because they are really quite different. I think I will always be one of those people who is just happy to have a piece of whatever amazing confection is in front of me. As far as my friends, it would be a lot of fun to have a “Team Cake vs Team Pie” challenge and see which group can valiantly defend their choice in a “Winner Bake All” fight to the finish.

Question: Which side are YOU on? Why? Share a recipe?

8 responses to “The Pie is a Lie

  1. 🙂 That’s a tough fight between cakes and pies! I don’t have pies as often as cakes but I can’t choose sides. 🙂 I’ll be glad to have any of those for dessert.

  2. http://bitesofsweetandspice.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/tarte-banane-banana-tart/

    Here’s my favourite banana tart recipe. I’m not sure if there’s a difference between tarts and pies though. 🙂

  3. Here’s a qualitative analysis of why cake is better than pie.

    Cake’s on the very basic level are homogeneous, better cakes are layered interiorly with some whipped cream frosting, but not overpowering like buttercream. Pies on the other hand tend to have a very diaphoretic interior which leads to two problems, pie’s can’t be consumed upon fresh bake since the interior is usually at a much higher, scolding temperature than the bready exterior. The other problem is that the increased viscosity of the interior makes it impossible to create a clean morsel from a pie without it falling apart, when you add fruit slices into the mix- a wedge of apple easily exceeds the capacity of the eating utensil.

    Pie’s do win at the smell contest, but that introduces the paradox that they can’t be consumed when they smell the best. Additionally, pie’s are made infinitely better with the presence of ice cream topping. Ice cream is its own dessert, so the fact that a pie is elevated by ice cream means that the pie itself is not as desirable to begin with. Sure, there is such a thing as an ice cream cake, but this is different from taking a scoop of vanilla and dumping it onto a cake to make it better, which is not the case.

  4. So here’s to sharing and not being so lazy. I still procrastinated mightily in a stress-free way.

    Here is the recipe:
     
    11 ounces of cream cheese blended until creamy
    Add 1/2 cup of sugar and blend
    Add 3 eggs and beat until blended
     
    1 can of cherry pie filling ( you can get lite with less sugar)
     
    Put the cherry pie filling into a pre-made  pie shell, pour the cream cheese mixture over the top.
     
    Bake at 400 for 10 minutes and decrease the temperature to 350 and bake for another 25 minutes or until a knife comes out of the middle clean.  It usually winds up being another 45 minutes…but depends on your oven.

    • Have you ever made this same recipe with blueberries or raspberries?

      • Personally, no. I can see it with blueberries. Intrigued by raspberries. Think there’d be some trial and error working out the moisture content of the fruit/filling. In any event, I still suspect experiments will taste pretty damn good.

Leave a Reply

