I didn’t think I would but…

I really miss the seasons of the Midwest. Talking with some of the long time residents of Los Angeles/Hermosa Beach, I can tell that the extreme seasonal changes I am use to back home don’t occur here. Even though I cursed the cold weather, ice and snow every winter, it was always something I expected around the same time each year. Since I have been in California, I have only seen three “changes” in Hermosa weather. Either the weather is sunny, foggy or rainy, with very little deviation from that. Last winter, I took solace in the fact that I was going home for most of late-fall/early winter. Traveling back to Missouri, I enjoyed seeing the fall colours and eventually relished the thin sheets of ice that made everything glisten so magically.

I have always had this weird fascination with ice.

It’s silly to feel so let down by weather, I suppose. I should feel privileged to live in a part of the country that seems so many sunny days, but I feel like I’m missing out on integral activities that take place in more temperate climates. I want to throw snowballs and see the changes in the trees right outside my window (all I can see is palm trees). I know that I can ultimately see changes if I traveled just outside LA or further north, but raking leaves during the fall was always an activity I oddly enjoyed.

I will definitely try to travel back home over the coming months, so I may even be able to build a snow man in late December. Until then, I will have to be content with the beautiful sunny weather that I wake up to almost every day here. However, I will continue to secretly pray that a freak blizzard will coat Hermosa in gorgeous, fluffy snow and I will have the most epic snow ball war this city has ever seen.

Leave a Reply

