I love Spotify

I recently decided to try out Spotify and I have to admit that I love it. I was so excited that it finally came to the US, as my friends living in the UK had been raving about it for some time now. One of the things I like most about Spotify is my ability to make playlists from their catalog of songs. I have been playing around with making a few different lists using my music library and Spotify’s extensive catalog.

Spotify Playlist

High for This” – The Weeknd
Avril 14th” – Aphex Twin
Sweet Disposition” – The Temper Trap
Hero” – Regina Spektor
Swans” – Unkle Bob
Assassouts” – Plaid
Slow Life [with Victoria Legrand]” – Grizzly Bear
Kaskaskia River” – Sufjan Stevens
“The Barker of the Dupes” – Skeleton  Key
All at Sea” – Richard Walters
Last Words” – The Real Tuesday Weld
Ghost Under Rocks” – Ra Ra Riot
This City is Hell” – Plaid
The Bird and the Worm” – Owl City
Her Morning Elegance” – Oren Lavie
I Didn’t Speak the Language” – The One AM Radio
For Real” – Okkervil River
Pick Up the Phone” – Notwist
Open Kastle” – Plaid
Gifted (Treasure Fingers Epicwave Remix)” – N.A.S.A.
Uprising” – Muse
River” – Mountain Man
Tiny City Made of Ashes” – Modest Mouse
Televators” – The Mars Volta
Simple Math” – Manchester Orchestra
Snakeing” – Plaid
String Quartest No. 3 (Mishima): Blood Oath” – Kronos Quartet
Dat New New (Viking Remix)” – Kid Cudi
Light Through the Veins” – Jon Hopkins
Lost In The World” – Kanye West, Bon Iver
Caroline” – John Butler Trio
Believe In What You Want” – Jimmy Eat World
House By the Sea” – Iron and Wine
Beginnings‘ – Plaid
Ali in the Jungle” – The Hours
The Razor” – Head Automatica
Generator (First Floor)” – Freelance Whales
The Beacon” – A Fine Frenzy
Grand Theft Ecstasy- Original Mix” – Feed Me
Butterfly” – Plaid
First Breath After Coma” – Explosions In The Sky
Pursuit of Happiness (Nightmare) [feat. MGMT]” – Kid Cudi
Disintegration” – Jimmy Eat World
Blood Red– Original Mix” – Feed Me
Little Motel” – Modest Mouse
Oasis” – Plaid
Plus Ones” – Okkervil River
Glorious” – Muse
Figure 8” – Elliott Smith
Apple Sugar Cider” – Facing New York
Let’s Get Lost” – Elliott Smith
Lights- Bassnectar Remix” Ellie Goulding
King’s Crossing” – Elliott Smith
Brothers Chase” – Plaid
How It Ends” – Devotchka
Comfort Eagle” – Cake
Between The Bars” – Elliott Smith
Transatlanticism” – Death Cab for Cutie
Where?” – Plaid
Raise Your Weapon (Madeon Remix)” – Deadmau5
Some Boys” – Death Cab for Cutie
Like Eating Glass” – Bloc Party
Beautiful People- Felix Cartal Club Remix” – Chris Brown feat. Benny Benassi
Rat’s Step” – Plaid
Signs- Armand Van Helden Remix” – Bloc Party
You Don’t Know Me (feat. Regina Spektor)” – Ben Folds
This Modern Love” – Bloc Party
Safety in Solitude” – Plaid
Pumped Up Kicks” – Foster the People
The Luckiest” – Ben Folds
Lights- Single Version” – Ellie Goulding
This City” – Plaid
Electric Feel” – MGMT
Timebomb” – Beck

Yes, I linked to every song (save “Barker of the Dupes” because it is not available….anywhere). It took a fairly ridiculous amount of time, but thankfully WordPress has this nifty thing where you can schedule posts. By scheduling it for later in the week, I was able to find songs little by little.

After reading/listening to the songs on the playlist above, you may be thinking, “That is an incredibly eclectic playlist.” In fact, I am very proud of my eclectic musical taste. I have found that I listen more to the song and less to the genre, which means that I often choose songs because of their uniqueness.

I will also try to post other playlists, but I am still learning all the in-and-outs of Spotify. Currently, I’m in the process of creating a playlist of house music and another for independently produced tracks (mostly my friends of mine).

Hope you enjoy the songs! Leave me some feedback on the ones you enjoyed the most. I am open to anything and love to listen to new music.

5 responses to “I love Spotify

  1. The Madeon remix of Raise Your Weapon really shines.
    I’ve been reminded of:
    * Plaid / Bjork collaborating on “Lilith”
    * Kaki King
    * Lamb
    * Rufus Wainwright
    * Leonard Cohen

    Going to stop for now at “Her Morning Elegance” .

    • I was turned on to Plaid when a friend gave me the Tekkon Kinkreet soundtrack. I love Leonard Cohen and Rufus Wainwright as well, they just didn’t make it on this particular playlist.

      The video for “Her Morning Elegance” is a great video, you should definitely watch it if you have the chance.

  2. I was listening to tracks in order you presented them, with exception of Deadmau5. I stopped at Her Morning Elegance because I had to repeat it repeatedly. Have since shared the song with a few friends.

  3. Wow, love the combo of the String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima) with the film in the snow – multiple listens. Light through the Veins also reverberates. One day I may complete this playlist. It’s nice returning for a nibble from time to time. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

