Obsessed

I love to read. I’m not even really sure why I love it so much. Most people say, “Reading transports you to far off places!” or something just as cliché, but I don’t read because I want to pretend I’m somewhere else. Reading helps me forget, I suppose. It helps me forget that I just worked 85+ hours over the last week, or that I have to scrub in by 5:30 a.m. the next morning. But that isn’t why I read, at least I don’t think it is. For me, reading just feels right and it helps me relax. In addition to its ability to relax me, I also made reading 30 books part of my yearly list of challenges.

Since I like to make lists (I really do, I’m surprised this entire blog isn’t just a series of lists), I keep a list of the books in my reading queue. I thought it might be interesting for those who do read this blog to have the chance to comment on my “To Reads.” I really do welcome suggestions, especially if you have read a book on this list and thought it was terrible. This list is in the order I plan to read them, but if you think I should move a book to certain spot tell me so!

To Read 2011:
A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin
A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin
Embassytown by China Mieville (I was reading this at the same time as the A Song of Ice and Fire series, but I decided to focus on one book at a time. I am about half way through it at the time of writing this post.)
The Map of Time by Felix Palma
Saved by Beauty by Roger Housden
Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake
Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake
Titus Alone by Mervyn Peake
Titus Awakes by Mervyn Peake
Busy Monsters by William Giraldi
The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities by Ann Vandermeer
The Family Fang by Kevin Wilson
The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger
The Magician King by Lev Grossman
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream by Harlan ellison
The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

After all of those, I plan on reading Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, but I have heard it is a massive undertaking to read in its entirety.

Several of the books are “Young Adult” books, but I decided that I needed to make the goal attainable by choosing some “fast” reads, that way I could actually finish the goal in 365 days.

There are two books from the list that I am not counting towards this goal of 30 books. Since I have already read eight books, I need to read 22 books to complete the goal by December 31, 2011. The books that I am not counting towards the goal are:

The Night Bookmobile
I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream

The reason these two don’t count is because The Night Bookmobile is a graphic novel (only 40 pages long) and I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream is a 146-page collection of short stories. This means that I need at least two books to replace them in order for me to reach my goal.

In order to qualify for the goal, the book must not be a graphic novel (even though I have read Logicomix and Asterios Polyp, which most would consider novel length), it must not be a collection of short stories and it can not be something I have already read.

Suggestions?

2 responses to “Obsessed

  1. harperfaulkner

    Well said. You are now on my Blog Roll.
    Dan

    http://rtewrite.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

