Update: Detox

It has been almost one week since I stopped following the 21 day detox diet and I have to say that the cleanse was well worth it. Following the detox, I felt rejuvenated, balanced and less stressed. I feel like I decided to do it at the perfect time. With the “big move” imminent, work has been very stressful as I try to tie up any loose ends. The stress of the move itself was causing me to have migraines on a regular frequency and I just was not feeling all that centered. By diving into the detox the first half of the month, I was able to balance myself before the move and not have to worry about trying to follow the detox while I was transitioning from one house to the other. This round of detox was definitely my most successful, as I only veered off-track a total of two times.

So what were some of the positives and negatives of the 21 Day Detox?

Positives:
– I lost 4 lbs and the dress that sparked this entire process now fits perfectly
– Not a single migraine the entire 21 days
– My stress level dropped drastically, I felt more relaxed (this occurred the last week of detox)
– It forced me to prepare food every day, no prepackaged foods from Locali
– I wasn’t nearly as tired throughout the day when I had a glass of goop in the middle of the day
– I was able to put my juicer to good use and I learned quite a few juice recipes
– It made me more conscious of what I was putting into my body

Negatives:
– I lost 4 lbs (even though I’m not suppose to lose anymore weight)
– The first week of the cleanse I was moody and emotional, I snapped at my assistant and friends several times
– There were some days where I really did not want to cook my own meals, but I did not have a choice
– The first week I had some serious caffeine withdrawals and wanted to suck down every cup of coffee/tea I saw
– Cooking/baking anything that deviated from the diet was excruciatingly painful
– I had to turn down several invitations to dinner with friends

By the end of the diet I was feeling pretty good. I had shaved a few seconds off my mile time, was able to wake up quickly and making decisions seemed to happen much quicker. I was able to get more done, even my PA noticed and complimented me, and focusing on work was easier.

The detox diet showed me that what I had been putting into my body, even though I had assumed it was good for me, was ultimately causing my body to function incorrectly. I felt like the diet really did cleanse my body and helped it regain a sense of balance. My body feels like it is finally functioning properly and that feels fantastic!

Journaling

Journaling. A practice I took away from the detox diet

I have taken away quite a bit from the detox, aspects of the diet that I will try to practice on a daily basis. The journal they I kept during this entire process is still on my nightstand and I plan to continue using it focus my thoughts in the evenings/mornings. I have begun to practice meditation on a daily basis and have even set aside an area of the new house specifically for meditation. Since the detox, I have not had any caffeine and I am hoping that I will be able to stay that way for the foreseeable future.

I also cleaned out my refrigerator, not only in preparation for the move, but also to force me to eat fresh everyday. This means that I will be visiting the grocery store more and really paying attention to what goes into my basket.

I feel like the diet was an excellent way for me to regain control of my life and myself. As a physician, I have often placed detox diets and cleanses in the category of pseudoscience. After trying this detox, however, I can honestly say that I feel like this detox plan actually worked. It could be the placebo effect, but I don’t really care due, in large part, to how I feel.

So, will I do this detox diet again? Absolutely. Would I recommend this cleanse to others? Yes, with the correct medical supervision. Will this “cure you of all that ails you?” Absolutely not, but it will help you focus on what is important. Yourself.

Leave a Reply

